Welcome to a world filled with rum-soaked pirates, deranged goblins, sneaky assassins, enchanting amazons, and mysterious cults – Welcome to the world of Freebooter’s Fate!

Background

The Freebooter’s Fate skirmish tabletop game is set in a tropical area far away from the human empire. Most of the action takes place in the harbour city of Longfall/ Puerto Alto. The city, originally founded as a trading post of the Imperial Armada, is in a constant state of unrest. Pirates infest the island, wreaking havoc with their nefarious dealings and internal rivalries. Goblins, recently freed from slavery, band together in large numbers and add to the chaos. Behind the scenes, the secret assassins’ organisation of the Brotherhood attempts to push its own agenda of re-establishing their preferred world order. The Amazons have left their native jungle to follow an old prophecy and the mystical Cult is boiling up from every dark nook and cranny to try and grab power for itself with the aid of mighty ghosts from a parallel realm, the so-called loas. Whose side are you gonna be on?

 The world

Despite portraying a world full of conflict and strife, the game’s background is frequently light and whimsical. Common pirate clichés abound (Arrr!) as do references to modern and not-all-that-modern pop culture. There is a definite tongue-in-cheek thing going on. More->

 

 

The game

Freebooter’s Fate sees two or more players facing each other with crews consisting of 4-12 characters each, fighting it out in scenario-based tabletop skirmishes. Each crew has a leader, a number of specialists – experienced, highly-skilled or otherwise outstanding individuals – and a bunch of deckhands to flesh out the numbers.

The average game lasts about 2 hours and is divided into several rounds, in which players take turns moving their characters. Play switches between crews after each individual character’s turn.

How to play Freebooter's Fate

  

Mechanics without dice

In contrast to most tabletop games, Freebooter’s Fate does not use dice. Instead, combat is resolved with the help of cards, specifically hit location cards and fate cards.

The attacker secretly chooses a certain number of cards from the 6 hit locations of head, torso, abdomen, legs, left arm and right arm while the defender does the same, both trying to anticipate the other’s choice. Different strategies of play turn this kind of combat into more than just a mere game of chance. Rather, the psychological elements make skill and cunning more importance than mere luck.

There is still an element of chance, however, in the form of the fate cards which feature various numerical values and symbols. They are used for determining damage and other chance-based effects, such as healing, falling off stuff, drowning in stuff and other such things. 

 

New gaming experiences

Freebooter’s Fate does not primarily focus on just hitting or shooting your opponent. A steadily growing pool of scenarios makes our game into more than just one big brawl repeated over and over. Hunting for treasure, rats or dodos, mystical conjuration rituals and of course attempting to stem the tide of invading zombie octopuses are just a few of the scenarios which make Freebooter’s Fate so special.

 

The miniatures

Freebooter Miniatures is the company owned by internationally renowned sculptor Werner Klocke. In addition to countless sculpts for nearly all the big names in the industry, he has been running his own company based on his personal series of miniatures for more than 10 years. He always dreamed of developing a game for those miniatures and Freebooter’s Fate is that dream come true. To this day, almost all of the game’s miniatures are shaped by his creative hands and are lovingly sculpted in a 32mm “scale” in the traditional way with plenty of attention to detail. This high quality is carried through to the material and the manufacturing process. All of our miniatures are made from metal and are produced in the EU in accordance with the strictest quality standards. The component parts of each miniature are manually sorted and checked to ensure that every single one is as close to the original as possible.

Each miniature is accompanied by a character card which lists the rules of the character in the game so you can field your miniature straightaway.

 

The crews

 When designing the crews, we took great care to give each of them their own general feel so that each would play differently than the others.

The Pirates

Driven by a sheer inexhaustible greed for riches and power (and rum), the Pirates have managed to establish themselves in former Puerto Alto and conquer a large part of the city. They are currently a major power. However, after the most powerful captains joined forces to drive the Imperial Armada into the jungle, cracks are beginning to appear in the façade of that fragile alliance. More->

 
  

The Imperial Armada

The Imperial Armada is fighting for its very survival in Longfall. The deal with the ELTC and the resulting ruinous rates for supplies are forcing it to act fast. Driven into the jungle by the pirates, they are getting pretty sick of life among the plants, have got themselves re-organised and are preparing to take back Longfall. More->

 

 

  

The Goblin-Pirates

Nobody took much notice of them while they were the Empire’s small, green, harmless and inconspicuous slave people. But then an orc taught them how to fight and they threw off the yoke of slavery. By now everybody knows to watch out for the Goblin Pirates. Most recently, they conquered one of Longfall’s outlying districts and declared this “Goblinopolis”, the capital of their goblin nation. More->

 
 
  

The Brotherhood

The Brotherhood’s assassins are making their sneaky, silent and allegedly righteous way through the city’s dark underbelly in order to bring peace and stability back to Longfall. They are just as adept at political intrigue as they are at sticking poisoned daggers into unsuspecting backs. More->

 
 
 

The Amazons

The Amazons are the embodiment of lethally graceful femininity. They have a close bond with their environment and live in harmony with the Earth Mother. Their home lies on a different island in a temple city surrounded by ruins, from where their hunters and warriors ventured forth in order to find and secure holy sites which had been lost to them. This does get them into conflict with the patriarchal civilization which dominates Longfall. More->

The Amazons first emerged from the jungle in the Deep Jungle expansion book.

 

The Cult

After the first big rift in the pirate captains’ alliance, Captain Asqueroso had turned towards the Cult. This organisation is controlled by the mystic Sybiline, who is guiding her followers to an as yet unknown goal. Since then, a steady stream of Cultists together with soulless Sansâmes and Cult-sympathising pirates has been emerging from Longfall’s dark corners, trying to grab power for the dark forces. More->

The Cult first saw the light in the Mystic Spirits expansion book.

 

The Mercenaries

Rumors abound in Longfall about secret treasures and vast hoards. Occasionally, individual, gold-hunting Mercenaries can be spotted in the ranks of some crews. These soldiers of fortune have usually been instructed by the ELTC to find the truth behind the rumors. Because there seems to be far too much smoke for there to be no fire, the ELTC is now assembling a crew of guns for hire to secure an early monopoly in the exciting new business area of natural resource relocation. More->

The East-Leoneran Trading Company became playable as a separate faction with the publication of the mercenary starter box. Rules for an all-mercenary crew can be found in Tales of Longfall 2 - Corporate Piracy.

 

Sounds great! How do I get in?

In order to play Freebooter’s Fate, you only need, in addition to a mate to play with, the basic rulebook, a set of playing cards, a tabletop and two starter boxes (different ones work best). Each starter box gives you enough characters for a crew worth about 300 doubloons.

Here you can find what you need to start!

 

Shop Search


Advanced search

Wishlist

0 Products - 0.00 EUR
Go to wishlist

Shopping Cart

Sum total:   0.00 EUR
Go to cart
Go to top

Willkommen in einer Welt voller rumgetränkter Piraten, witzig-verrückter Goblins, düsterer Assassinen, reizender Amazonen und geheimnisvoller Kulte - Willkommen in der Welt von Freebooter’s Fate!

Der Hintergrund

Das Skirmish-Tabletop Freebooter’s Fate spielt in tropischen Regionen fernab des zentralen Imperiums der Menschen, genauer in der Hafenstadt Longfall / Puerto Alto. Die als Truppenstützpunkt der Imperialen Armada gegründete Stadt befindet sich im Mittelpunkt steter Unruhen. Piraten bevölkern die Insel und lassen ihre Geschäfte und internen Machtkämpfe walten. Aus der Sklaverei befreite Goblins rotten sich zu Banden zusammen und stiften zusätzliche Unruhe. Im Untergrund versucht die Bruderschaft, ein geheimer Assassinenbund, im Glauben an eine neue Weltordnung ihre Agenda voranzutreiben. Die Amazonen haben ihren abgelegenen Dschungel verlassen, um alten Prophezeiungen zu folgen und der mystische Kult hat sich erhoben, um an der Seite machtvoller Geisterwesen, den Loas, die Herrschaft an sich zu reißen. Auf wessen Seite wirst du stehen?

 

 Die Welt

Trotz der konfliktreichen Welt nimmt sich der Hintergrund des Spiels selbst gerne auf die Schippe und spielt mit gängigen Piratenklischees genauso wie mit Anlehnungen an die moderne Popkultur. Alles wird mit einem gewissen Augenzwinkern betrachtet. Mehr->

 

Das Spiel

Bei Freebooter's Fate treten zwei oder mehr Spieler mit einer Mannschaft aus 4-12 Charakteren in szenariobasierten Tabletopgefechten gegeneinander an. Jede Mannschaft besitzt einen Anführer und eine variierende Anzahl von Spezialisten - erfahrene, hochbegabte oder einzigartige Individuen - und dazu zahlreiche Gefolgsleute.

Ein durchschnittliches Spiel dauert etwa 2 Stunden und ist in mehrere Runden aufgeteilt, in denen die Spieler abwechselnd mit jeweils einem ihrer Charaktere agieren.

Wie spiele ich Freebooter's Fate?

 

 Das würfellose Spielprinzip

Anders als die meisten Tabletops verwendet Freebooter's Fate keine Würfel. Stattdessen werden Kämpfe mit Hilfe der Trefferzonen- und Schicksalskarten abgehandelt.

Der Angreifer wählt aus den sechs Trefferzonen Kopf, Torso, Unterleib, Beine, sowie dem linken und rechten Arm eine gewisse Menge verdeckt aus und der Verteidiger versucht diese mit seinen Karten zu erahnen. Unterschiedliche Erfolgsstrategien machen den Kampf hier nicht zu einem bloßen Glücksspiel, sondern begünstigen durch die psychologischen Effekte das "Können" vor dem Zufall.

Das übliche Glückselement existiert natürlich dennoch in Form der mit unterschiedlichen Zahlenwerten und Zusatzsymbolen ausgestatteten Schicksalskarten, die für die Schadensermittlung und Abhandlung anderer zufallsbasierter Effekte herangezogen werden.

 

Immer neue Spielerfahrungen

Freebooter's Fate setzt nicht in erster Linie auf die reine bewaffnete Auseinandersetzung. Ein stetig wachsender Pool von Szenarien sorgt dafür, dass unser Spiel mehr ist als nur eine wilde Klopperei. Schatzsuchen, Ratten- und Dodojagden, mystische Beschwörungsrituale und natürlich das Aufhalten einer Flut von Zombie-Oktopussen sind nur ein paar der Szenarien, die Freebooter's Fate so besonders machen.

 

Die Miniaturen

Freebooter Miniatures ist die Firma des international bekannten Modellierers Werner Klocke. Neben zahlreichen Arbeiten für nahezu alle großen Firmen der Miniaturenbranche ist er seit über 10 Jahren mit seiner eigenen Miniaturenserie selbständig und hat sich mit Freebooter’s Fate den Traum erfüllt, für diese Serie ein eigenes Spiel zu erschaffen. Noch heute stammen fast alle Miniaturen des Spiels aus seiner kreativen Hand und werden mit viel Liebe zum Detail auf die traditionelle Weise im 32mm Maßstab modelliert. Diese Qualität setzt sich auch beim Material und der Fertigung fort. Alle unsere Miniaturen sind aus Metall und werden in der EU nach höchsten Qualitätsstandards hergestellt. Von Hand werden die Einzelteile jeder Miniatur sortiert und geprüft, damit jede Miniatur wie ein Original ist.

Jeder Miniatur liegt eine Charakterkarte bei, auf der die Regeln der Figur im Spiel erläutert werden, um ein sofortiges Spielen zu ermöglichen.

 

Die Mannschaften

Bei den Mannschaften haben wir sehr darauf geachtet, dass jede von ihnen etwas Einzigartiges hat und sich anders spielt als die übrigen.

Die Piraten

Angetrieben von der schier unendlichen Gier nach Reichtum und Macht haben die Piraten es geschafft, sich im ehemaligen Puerto Alto niederzulassen und den Großteil der Stadt einzunehmen. Mittlerweile haben sie eine beachtliche Machtposition inne. Nachdem die mächtigsten von ihnen in einem Bündnis die Imperiale Armada in den Dschungel vertrieben haben, entstehen aber bereits Risse in dieser Allianz. Mehr->

 

 

Die Imperiale Armada

Die Imperiale Armada kämpft in Longfall ums nackte Überleben. Das Abkommen mit der OLHG über teure Versorgung und Nachschub zwingt sie zum Handeln. Von Piraten in den Dschungel vertrieben haben Sie das Dschungelleben satt, sich neu organisiert und bereiten einen Vorstoß vor, um Longfall zurückzuerobern. Mehr->

 


 

Die Goblin-Piraten

Als sie klein, grün, harmlos und unauffällig waren, hat sie noch keiner ernst genommen, doch mit Hilfe eines Orks lernten sie, sich zur Wehr zu setzen und befreiten sich aus der Sklaverei. Nun weiß ein jeder: Vorsicht vor den Goblin-Piraten! Kürzlich haben Sie einen Außenbezirk Longfalls erobert und dieses „Goblinopolis“ zur Hauptstadt ihrer Goblin-Nation ernannt. Mehr->

 

 

 

Die Bruderschaft

Heimlich, still und leise bewegen sich die Assassinen der Bruderschaft im Untergrund auf dem Weg der Gerechtigkeit, um Frieden und Stabilität wieder nach Longfall zu bringen. Sie verstehen das Spiel mit dem Machtsystem und den politischen Intrigen ebenso gut wie den Umgang mit Gift und hinterhältigen Angriffen. Mehr->

 

 

 

Die Amazonen

Die Amazonen verkörpern eine grazile aber tödliche Weiblichkeit. Sie sind eng mit Ihrer Umgebung verbunden und leben in Harmonie mit der Erdmutter. Ihre Heimat ist eine Tempelstadt inmitten von Ruinen, von wo aus ihre Jäger- und Kriegerinnen ausschwärmen, um die heiligen Stätten ausfindig zu machen und zu sichern. Dies führt sie unweigerlich in Konflikt mit der von Männern beherrschten Zivilisation. Mehr->

Die Amazonen erschienen erstmalig im Deep Jungle Erweiterungsregelbuch.

 

Der Kult

Captain Asqueroso hatte sich nach dem ersten tiefen Riss in der Allianz der Piratenkapitäne dem mystischen Kult zugewandt. Hinter ihm agiert als eigentliche Drahtzieherin die Mystikerin Sybiline und führt ihre Anhänger auf ein noch unbekanntes Ziel zu. Seitdem steigen Kultisten zusammen mit seelenlosen Sansâmes und dem Kult zugewandten Piraten aus dem Dunkel hervor und greifen nach der Macht in Longfall. Mehr->

 Der Kult erschien erstmalig im Mystic Spirits Erweiterungsregelbuch.

 

Die Söldner / Ostleonerische Handelsgesellschaft

In Longfall kursieren Gerüchte über geheime Schätze und erhebliche Reichtümer. Vereinzelt findet man schatzsuchende Söldner in den Reihen einiger Mannschaften, welche sich im Namen der OLHG um den Wahrheitsgehalt dieser Gerüchte kümmern sollen. Um an diese schlummernden Reichtümer zu gelangen und sich die Vormachtstellung in dem Geschäftsfeld zu sichern, trommelt die OLHG sich nun zu einer Mannschaft zusammen. Mehr->

Die Ostleonerische Handelsgesellschaft wurde mit der Söldner-Starterbox als eigene Fraktion spielbar. Die Regeln für eine Söldnermannschaft befinden sich im Tales of Longfall 2 - Corporate Piracy.

Wie fange ich an?

Um Freebooter's Fate spielen zu können, braucht ihr neben einem Kumpel lediglich das Grundregelwerk, einen Satz Spielkarten, euren Spieltisch und zwei (am besten verschiedene) Starterboxen. Jede Starterbox versorgt euch bereits mit Charakteren für etwa 300 Dublonen.

Hier kannst Du alles finden, was Du zum Anfang benötigst!

Shop Suche


Erweiterte Suche

Wunschliste

0 Products - 0.00 EUR
Go to wishlist

Warenkorb

Gesamtsumme:   0.00 EUR
Zum Warenkorb
Zum Seitenanfang